关于玛瑙

什么是玛瑙

属于隐晶质石英的一种,主要的化学成份为二氧化矽,其硬度介于6.5至7.5间,石体呈半透明或不透明状。当地底下的岩浆喷发后,岩石中自然形成的孔洞被二氧化矽填充,由二氧化矽结晶而成的矿物即是玛瑙。许多人常分不清玛瑙及玉髓,事实上他们的成分皆相同,最大的差别在于玛瑙带有纹带状构造,而玉髓的石体本身没有纹带状。

玛瑙的传说及象征

有许多关于玛瑙的传说在各地流传,其中最著名的是希腊神话中代表爱情与美丽的女神阿佛洛荻特的故事,传说有天当她在树荫下休息时,她的儿子爱神厄洛思偷偷取下她的指甲并飞上天际,却因过于开心而不小心弄掉了指甲,指甲掉落至地上后则变成玛瑙,从此玛瑙被赋予美丽及爱情的代表。除了西方传说以外,玛瑙也被列为佛教七宝之一,有吉祥、幸福、希望的象征,更被视为可避邪的护身符。

玛瑙的发源地

玛瑙的产地分布于世界各地,主要出产地为巴西及中国,其他也包括美国、印度、墨西哥、俄罗斯、澳洲等国家,因地理环境影响,各地出产的玛瑙品种、颜色、纹理也各不相同,其中以巴西的红玛瑙及中国的南红玛瑙最为著名。

如何保养玛瑙

  • 玛瑙硬度虽高但脆,容易因为碰撞而碎裂。
  • 请尽量放置于阴凉处及避免太阳直晒,另外,玛瑙需存放在有一定湿度的环境。
  • 化学物品会导致玛瑙变色,请使其远离,清洁时也避免使用化学清洁剂。
  • 当玛瑙上有脏污时可用清水或肥皂水清洁,也可使用软毛刷清洁,擦拭时请用软布或毛巾。
  • 为避免玛瑙饰品接触妆发用品请先完成上妆及发型再配戴。

Free Shipping to United States

About Agate

What is Agate

Agate is a kind of cryptocrystalline quartz, and its main chemical composition is silicon dioxide. The hardness of Agate on the Mohs scale is between 6.5 and 7.5, and it looks translucent or opaque. When underground magma erupt, the natural holes on the rocks are filled with silicon dioxide. The mineral crystallized from silicon dioxide is called Agate. Many people are not able to distinguish Agate from Chalcedony since their composition is the same. However, the most difference lies in the stone structure. Agate is with banded form, but Chalcedony isn't.

Legend and Symbol of Agate

There are many legends passed down in different countries. The most famous story is about the goddess Aphrodite who stands for love and beauty in Greek mythology. The legend says that one day when Aphrodite took a rest under the tree, her naughty son Eros took her nail and flied to the sky secretly. However, he was too delightful to keep the nail well. Suddenly, Eros made the nail fall to the ground carelessly, and then the nail became agate. From then on, Agate is considered to be a sign of beauty and love. Besides western legends, Agate is also listed into one of "Seven Treasures of Buddhism" and symbolizes blessedness, happiness, and hope. Some people even regard it as an amulet.

Origin of Agate

The place of production for Agate is all over the world. The main countries are Brazil and China, and other countries producing Agate also include the United States, India, Mexico, Russia, Australia, etc. Influenced by geography and environment, Agate from different places also shows different types, colors, and grains. Of all, the most famous ones are Red Agate from Brazil and Southern Red Agate from China.

How to Take Care of Agate

  • Agate has a high hardness but brittle, it can be broken easily by collision.
  • Please store Agate in shady and cool environment and prevent from the sunlight, also, the environment must be a certain humidity.
  • Chemicals cause Agate changes color, therefore, please put Agate jewelry away from them. Chemical detergents are also unnecessary when cleaning Agate.
  • When Agate gets dirty, wash it with clear water or soap water, it can also be cleaned by soft brushes and wiped with soft cloth or towel.
  • To avoid Agate gets stained by cosmetics and hair spray, please finish dressing up before putting on Agate jewelry.