寄达美国免运费

关于宝石珊瑚

什么是宝石珊瑚

属于刺丝胞动物的一种,大多不具有移动能力,只能藉由珊瑚虫的触手捕食浮游生物维生。宝石珊瑚的生长范围主要分布于水深110-1800公尺的深海中,它的生长环境条件极高,必须在适当的温度、光照度低且良好稳定的水流及水质下才能生存,生长速度极为缓慢,平均一年只能成长1至3公厘。宝石珊瑚本身的颜色包括深红色、粉色、桃红色及白色等,其硬度介于3至4之间,因珊瑚本体带有光泽,制作而成的珠宝饰品显得十分高雅出众。

宝石珊瑚的发源地

由于地中海沿岸的宝石珊瑚分布于水深仅50公尺内的浅海,宝石珊瑚最初是在地中海及义大利被发现、开采,因采集时间较早,资源也较早枯竭。随后在美国、日本、台湾等国家的深海中也发现含有丰富的宝石珊瑚资源,其中以台湾为主要生产地,早期产量曾占全世界总量的80%,台湾因此获得珊瑚王国的美称。

宝石珊瑚的现况

宝石珊瑚备受世界各地的喜爱,是财富及身分地位的象征,在西方被列属三大有机宝石之一,在东方也被归为是佛教七宝之一,印度及西藏的佛教徒更视珊瑚为佛祖的化身。但因珊瑚本身生长速度缓慢、又遭过度开采,宝石珊瑚的总量已锐减许多,导致近几年宝石珊瑚的价格已翻倍高涨。

保养珊瑚珠宝饰品

  • 宝石珊瑚属于有机宝石,对酸性与碱性物质较敏感,尽量不要让珊瑚饰品碰触到身体的汗液。
  • 穿戴珊瑚饰品后,可以用清水清洗饰品表面,再用软布擦干即可。
  • 可用些许婴儿油擦拭保养,保持珊瑚饰品的光泽感。
  • 珊瑚饰品容易断裂,收藏或穿戴时请小心轻放。
  • 沐浴时,请不要佩戴珊瑚饰品。

Free Shipping to United States

About Precious Coral

What is Precious Coral

Precious Coral is categorized into Cnidaria. It lives without movability and can only feed on plankton through Coral polyps' tentacles. The habitat that Precious Coral grows mostly lies in 110 to 1,800 meters depth in the deep ocean. The condition of growing environment for Precious Coral is quite high. It must be appropriate temperature, low light, steady stream and good water quality. The growth rate for Precious Coral is also very low. It can grows only 1 mm to 3 mm per year on average. The body color of Precious Coral includes deep red, pink, fuchsia and white. Its hardness on the Mohs scale is between 3 and 4. The body of Precious Coral is with luster, so its jewelry and accessories are quite elegant and outstanding.

The Origin of Precious Coral

In the beginning, Precious Coral was found and extracted in the Mediterranean Sea and Italy since the Precious Coral in Mediterranean Coast distributed to the shallow sea within 50 meters depth. The Precious Coral in this area was extracted earlier, so it also became exhausted early. Later, abundant Precious Coral was found in deep ocean in the United States, Japan, Taiwan, etc. Among these areas, Taiwan was the major place of origin. The production from Taiwan occupied 80 percent of total amount all over the world in the early stage. Thus, Taiwan was also called "Coral Kingdom" from then on.

The Current Condition of Precious Coral

Precious Coral is highly appreciated all over the world and becomes a symbol of wealth and status. Besides, Precious Coral is listed into one of the top three organic gemstones in the western countries and categorized into one of seven treasures of Buddhism in the eastern countries. The Buddhists in India and Tibet even regard it as the incarnation of Buddha. Precious Coral grows slowly and has been over-extracted, which makes its total amount reduce strictly. Therefore, the price has increased several times.

How to Take Care of Coral Jewelry

  • Precious Coral belongs to organic gemstone which is particularly sensitive to acidity and alkalinity. Please avoid the coral jewelry from sweat on the body.
  • After taking your coral jewelry off, gently clean the surface with water and wipe it with soft cloth.
  • Using a little baby oil can keep luster on the coral jewelry.
  • Coral jewelry is quite fragile. Be careful when storing and wearing it.
  • Be sure to take coral jewelry off before taking a bath.