寄达美国免运费

关于玉

什么是玉

其主要成份分为二种,截然不同的矿物组成,一种为闪石类矿物,一种为辉​​石类矿物,分别又称为软玉与硬玉。翡翠即为硬玉,属辉石类,主要是由矽、酸、铝、钠所组成,出产于变质岩层中形成结晶,呈微晶质致密状,往往伴生在蓝闪石、白云母、硬柱石、霰石和石英,莫氏硬度在6.5~7之间。

翡翠的沿革

翡翠制品盛行时期在清朝,由王公贵族收藏,而后渐普及至民间。今日我们所见的翡翠文物,多为清朝时期产物流传而来。中华文化崇尚玉石,将它视为吉祥之物,也奠定了翡翠的高贵身价。翡翠为各国传统文化中价格昂贵的宝石品种,也在国际知名的拍卖会上成为新宠,它的地位甚至一度超过各种宝石,时至今日,东亚地区依然将翡翠视为一种深具文化特色的宝石。

翡翠加工的优化与处理

  • 天然翡翠

    翡翠矿石原料经过机械切割、研磨、抛光等流程后,制成翡翠饰品,其质地、颜色都是天然的,没有经过任何优化与处理。
  • 热处理翡翠

    将翡翠加温促进氧化作用,使黄色、棕色、褐色的翡翠变成较鲜艳的红色,翡翠的颜色可能稍微改善或完全改变。
  • 漂白翡翠

    翡翠矿石一般都会伴生其他矿物,造成绿色的翡翠带有其他色斑与脏点,漂白是一种传统工艺,利用梅酸、果酸、盐酸等酸性液体浸泡,清洗翡翠的杂质和矿物,只保留绿色的部分,使其更加纯净、美观。
    • 漂白后浸蜡

      以弱酸性液体清洗翡翠表面的杂质,浸泡时间较短,翡翠外观改善,内部结构未破坏,浸蜡可覆盖表面细微的酸蚀纹。
    • 漂白后填充

      以重酸性液体清洗翡翠表面的杂质且去除内部的物质,浸泡时间较长,翡翠外观改变,质地呈现通透,内部结构已破坏,导致非常脆弱,需要聚合物填充内部结构达到固结,如真空注胶方式。
  • 染色翡翠

    翡翠原矿多为白色,将翡翠浸泡在染料桶里,让染剂慢慢渗入翡翠结构内,达成人工加色的目的。
  • 浸蜡翡翠

    石蜡或川蜡加热成液体状后,将翡翠浸泡在其中,而后用布擦拭,掩盖翡翠表面的细微痕迹,增加翡翠表面的光洁程度。
    • 翡翠在抛光后,透过放大镜会发现表面有细微坑点,导致抛光面不平坦,可透过浸蜡来填满坑点的空间,使其抛光面更平顺。
    • 在翡翠雕件上,一些沟槽处不易抛光的地方,也会采用浸蜡的方式来抛光。
    • 翡翠经过漂白后,表面会出现酸蚀纹,会透过浸蜡来覆盖。

如何保养翡翠

  • 虽然翡翠的硬度高但遇到撞击还是容易碎裂,受到撞击后即使表面看不出痕迹但内部结构可能已破坏且影响其坚固性。当手上除了翡翠以外还配戴着其他物品时请注意在动作时避免配件相互碰撞。
  • 翡翠不适合接触高温,避免存放于阳光直射的地方或是浸泡于热水中,也请尽量别戴着翡翠烹饪。
  • 洗澡、游泳、运动前请先脱下翡翠饰品并放置于安全的地方。
  • 避免翡翠接触化妆品及化学物品以防侵蚀。
  • 长期配戴可让翡翠保持光亮,但须定期清洁避免汗液侵蚀翡翠。清洗时只需使用清水或肥皂水即可,勿添加额外的化学洗洁剂。可用软毛刷或牙刷配合清洁,刷洗时先用清水将翡翠上的灰尘冲掉避免在擦洗过程中磨损。

Free Shipping to United States

About Jade

What is Jade

The composition of Jade is divided into two different minerals. One mineral is Amphibole, and the other is Pyroxene. These two kinds of jade are named Nephrite and Jadeitite individually. Jadeite belongs to Jadeitite and consists of silicon, acid, aluminium and sodium. It is produced in Metamorphic rock and forms crystal which is compact microcrystalline. Jadeite usually accompanies Glaucophane, Muscovite, Lawsonite, Aragonite and Quartz. Besides, the hardness of Jadeite on the Mohs scale is between 6.5 and 7.

History of Jadeite

Jadeite was extremely prevalent during Qing Dynasty. It was collected by the royals and nobles in the beginning and then gradually became popular among civilians. Most of Jadeite antiques that we see at the present time are passed down from Qing Dynasty. In the Chinese culture, people admire Jadeite very much and regard it as propitious jewelry, which leads it to high value. Jadeite is a kind of gemstone with high price in the traditional culture all over the world and also becomes a new favorite item in international auctions. Nowadays, Jadeite is still considered precious gemstone with cultural features in the region of East Asia.

Enhancement and Treatment of Jadeite

  • Natural

    The ores of Jadeite are made into jewelry through the process of mechanical cutting, grinding and polishing. Its texture and color are natural without any enhancement or treatment.
  • Heating

    Jadeite can be heated to accelerate the oxidation process, which will change its original colors from yellow or brown to bright red. This may be a slight or huge change of color.
  • Bleaching

    The ores of Jadeite usually accompany other minerals which form stains or colored spots in green Jadeite. Bleaching is a traditional technique. People soak Jadeite into plum juice, fruit acid or hydrochloric acid to remove impurities and inclusions. After bleaching, only green color remains, and Jadeite looks purer and nicer.
    • Bleaching and Waxing

      Jadeite is placed in mild acid liquid in a short time to remove impurities on the surface and enhance its appearance. In this process, internal structure still remains undamaged. Next, Jadeite is soaked with wax to make up small acid-etched marks on the surface.
    • Bleaching and Impregnating Polymer

      Jadeite is placed in strong acid liquid for a long time to remove impurities on the surface and internal inclusions. As the result, Jadeite becomes more transparent. However, the internal structure of Jadeite is damaged and becomes fragile in this treatment. Therefore, it needs to be impregnated with polymer to strengthen its structure.
  • Dyeing

    Most of Jadeite ores are white, and Jadeite can be dyed to produce more desirable color. In this process, Jadeite is soaked in chemical dye barrel, and liquid dyes can infiltrate the structure of Jadeite to color the stone artificially.
  • Waxing

    Jadeite is placed into liquid wax formed by heating paraffin wax or insect wax and then wiped with a cloth, which can cover the slight marks on the surface and enhance the best luster of Jadeite.
    • After Jadeite is polished, there are still some small pits remaining on the surface. These pits will lead to unevenness and can be discerned with magnifier. However, they can be filled with wax which makes the polished surface much smoother.
    • Waxing can be also used to cover carved grooves which is difficult to polish on the Jadeite carvings.
    • Through the bleaching process, there are acid-etched marks remaining on the surface. Waxing can be also used to cover these marks.

How to Take Care of Jadeite

  • Although Jadeite has a high rating in Mohs hardness scale, it is easily cracked. Collision may damage the inner structure and affects the firmness of the Jadeite without showing any flaws on the surface. Please avoid not to knock Jadeite against other items which are also wearing on your hand, especially when doing hand gestures.
  • Since high temperature is bad for Jadeite, the stone cannot be placed under the sunlight or soaked in hot water, please also take off Jadeite jewelry when cooking.
  • Take off Jadeite jewelry and put it in a safe place before taking bath, swimming or doing exercise or it may damaged during the actions.
  • Cosmetics and chemicals are harmful to Jadeite, please keep the it away from them to evade erosioning.
  • When we touch or wear Jadeite often, it remains its luster, even so, it needs to be cleaned regularly to prevent erosioning from sweat. When washing Jadeite, clear water or soap water without adding extra chemical detergents are fine. Soft brush or toothbrush are ideal tools for cleaning Jadeite but please wash the dust off before brushing to restrain Jadeite from being scraped.